KYCKART
Blog/descriptionIndustry Whitepaper

Fraud Prevention Under the DPDP Act: Where Privacy and Risk Collide in Indian Lending

Indian lenders will run fraud controls under a DPDP Act whose list of legitimate uses does not name fraud prevention. Six collision points, the legal bases a lender can actually use, and the evidence to keep.

personBhanujeet Choudhary, Head of Compliancecalendar_todaySeptember 2026 (current as at 23 September 2026)schedule~55 min read
Fraud Prevention Under the DPDP Act: Where Privacy and Risk Collide in Indian Lending

Important notice. This paper is analysis for information only. It is not legal, regulatory, tax or compliance advice. It reflects the instruments and reports cited as at September 2026. The following are this paper's reading of the cited provisions and are not statements of settled law: the executive summary's central reading and its summary of the work before 13 May 2027 (computed); the "Risk to avoid" and "Reading to avoid" passages in Section 3, including the "Reading to avoid" column in the Section 3.6 table; the "defensible position" passages in Section 4; the analysis in Section 4(g); and the "status" column of the Section 5.1 register. Any position described here needs review by the institution's own counsel before it is relied on.

How to read the citations.- Wording of the Digital Personal Data Protection Act, 2023 is quoted from bare-act reproductions of the Act. The Gazette text of Act No. 22 of 2023 is the authority to check before relying on any quotation. - The DPDP Rules, 2025 (G.S.R. 846(E)) and the commencement notification G.S.R. 843(E) are quoted from Gazette page images hosted on non-government mirror sites. - [secondary] marks a provision or fact taken from a published reproduction, law-firm note or news report rather than from the issuing authority's own text. - DRAFT marks an instrument released for public comment and not in force. - (computed) marks a calendar date derived from a period stated in an instrument. Neither commencement instrument prints 13 November 2026 or 13 May 2027. - RBI's 2016 KYC Master Direction was repealed with effect from 28 November 2025 [secondary] and is not cited as current law. - This paper contains no KYCKART product claims and no KYCKART client or fraud data.
01

Executive Summary

Indian lenders will run fraud controls under a DPDP Act whose list of legitimate uses does not name fraud prevention. None of the nine legitimate uses in Section 7 uses the words fraud, money laundering, credit or risk. The Act's working tools for fraud teams are elsewhere: the Section 17(1)(c) exemption for processing "in the interest of prevention, detection, investigation or prosecution of any offence", the Section 11(2) carve-out for written requests from a Data Fiduciary authorised by law, and the law-compliance carve-outs in Section 6(6), Section 8(7) and Section 12(3). All of those provisions commence eighteen months after 13 November 2025, which computes to 13 May 2027 (computed).

This paper's central reading, built from the provisions cited below, is that the collision is uneven. Where a fraud control rests on a duty in another law, such as PMLA record-keeping secondary], [RBI fraud reporting or credit-information retention, the other law names the duty, and the DPDP text defers to other law for consent withdrawal and erasure through the carve-outs in s.6(6), s.8(7) and s.12(3). Beyond those carve-outs, whether a given RBI rule is accommodated or overridden under Section 38(2) is a question the cited sources do not settle. Where a control rests on the lender's own judgement, such as device signals beyond what RBI prescribes, participation in shared registries with no mandating paragraph, or collections contact with third parties, the text offers consent or an exemption whose reach is unresolved. The second group is where the open questions, and the evidence burden, concentrate.

The six collision points

ScenarioWhere DPDP (from 13 May 2027, computed) and fraud work meetSettled in the text (DPDP provisions commence 13 May 2027, computed)Open as at September 2026
(a) Fraud consortium data and negative listsThe s.11(1)(b) right to learn which fiduciaries received data, and the s.8(3) accuracy duty, against RBI's CFR, CPFIR and red-flag reporting and CIC reportingRBI reporting duties; the CIC permitted purposes; the s.11(2) textThe DPDP basis for the DPIP Smart Registry secondary], [FRI secondary] and [Suspect Registry [secondary] flows
(b) Device, behavioural and location signals at onboardingThe s.6(1) necessity limit on consentDigital Lending para 12(i) device-resource limits; V-CIP geo-tagging and IP rulesBehavioural analytics, device fingerprinting and SIM binding, for which this paper found no RBI provision
(c) Mule accounts and the DRAFT 60-day debit holdA DRAFT temporary debit hold secondary] meets the DPDP [s.8(3) accuracy duty and s.11(1)(b) access rightThe Supreme Court's 4 August 2026 direction (as reported) [secondary] for an SOPThe final text of the DRAFT; comments close 2 October 2026 [secondary]
(d) Erasure or consent withdrawal under a fraud flags.8(7), s.12(3) and s.6(6) against PMLA five-year floors secondary] and [RBI fraud-classification clocksThe wording of each carve-out; the CIC seven-year minimumAny retention period for fraud case files and flags; the reach of s.17(1)(c)
(e) Collections third parties and skip tracings.17(1)(f), which reaches only the defaulter's own financesRBI's 2022 recovery-agent circular; Digital Lending paras 8(v) and 12(i)Primary text of the RBI Responsible Business Conduct Fourth Amendment Directions, 2026 [secondary], issued 6 August 2026 and effective 1 January 2027, is not reproduced in the sources cited
(f) Fraud and KYC vendors as processorss.8(1), s.8(2) and s.8(5) and Rule 6(1)(f) against RBI outsourcing clauses [secondary]Fiduciary liability for processors survives every s.17(1) exemptionWhether s.8(6) breach intimation applies to s.17(1) processing

What is settled

"Settled" here means settled in the text. Apart from s.38, the DPDP provisions below commence on 13 May 2027 (computed).

What is open

  • Whether fraud prevention by a private lender fits any Section 7 clause. King Stubb & Kasiva writes [secondary] that it may; the text does not name it.
  • Whether routine fraud screening, as distinct from a specific suspected offence, falls within s.17(1)(c).
  • The DPDP basis for the DPIP Smart Registry, FRI and Suspect Registry data flows.
  • Retention periods for fraud case files and flags, V-CIP recordings, and consent records held by a Data Fiduciary.
  • The final text of the DRAFT KYC Amendment Directions, 2026 [secondary], which remain open for comment.
  • The primary text of the RBI Responsible Business Conduct Fourth Amendment Directions, 2026 [secondary]. They were issued on 6 August 2026 and take effect on 1 January 2027, but the sources cited report their provisions without reproducing RBI's text, and the two reports differ on call-recording retention.

Before 13 May 2027 (computed)

The dates that shape the runway:

DateEventStatus
13 November 2025DPDP Rules published as G.S.R. 846(E); Board establishment provisions (ss.18-26) and s.38 commenceIn force
1 August 2026LiveLaw reports the Board has "no appointed Chairperson and no appointed Members" [secondary]Board established in law; not yet staffed as at that report
2 October 2026Comments close on the DRAFT KYC Amendment Directions, 2026 [secondary]DRAFT
13 November 2026 (computed)Rule 4 (Consent Manager registration) and s.6(9) and s.27(1)(d) commenceScheduled
1 January 2027RBI Responsible Business Conduct Fourth Amendment Directions, 2026 take effect [secondary]Issued; primary text not reproduced in the sources cited
1 April 2027Proposed effective date of the DRAFT temporary debit hold [secondary]DRAFT
13 May 2027 (computed)ss.3-5, s.6(1)-(8) and (10), ss.7-17, and the Board's inquiry powers; Rules 3, 5-16, 22 and 23Scheduled

In January 2026 MeitY discussed cutting the eighteen-month window to twelve secondary]. A VARINDIA report of 31 August 2026 [quotes MeitY Secretary S. Krishnan as saying "the notified deadlines would remain unchanged" [secondary]. This paper uses the computed dates above.

Penalties under the Schedule to the Act run up to ₹250 crore for failing to take reasonable security safeguards, up to ₹200 crore for failing to give breach intimation, and up to ₹50 crore for breach of any other provision. Under Section 33(2) the Board will weigh, among other factors, the nature, gravity and duration of a breach and the timeliness and effectiveness of mitigation.

Read against those dates, the work this paper points to before 13 May 2027 (computed) is threefold: a legal-basis register that names the provision behind each fraud-related data use (Section 5.1), processor contracts that carry both the DPDP and RBI clauses (Scenario f), and a retention map that separates data held under a legal duty from data held on consent alone (Appendix A). Section 6 lists the sourced items.


02

Why the Two Collide

The DPDP Act and RBI's fraud framework pull the same customer record in opposite directions on four axes.

AxisWhat the DPDP text pulls towardWhat fraud and credit rules pull toward
How much dataConsent limited to data "necessary for such specified purpose" (s.6(1))A dedicated Data Analytics and MI Unit and red-flagging on Early Warning Signal indicators (FRM MD)
How longErasure once the specified purpose is no longer being served or consent is withdrawn (s.8(7))Five-year debarment from full repayment for persons classified as fraud; seven-year minimum for credit information; five-year PMLA floors [secondary]
Who else sees itA right to learn "the identities of all other Data Fiduciaries and Data Processors" that received the data (s.11(1)(b))Use of the Central Fraud Registry in credit and fraud risk management and reporting to CPFIR; reporting to CICs all lending done through DLAs
Customer controlWithdrawal of consent "at any time" and a request-based erasure rightFraud classification after a show cause notice, at least 21 days to respond and a reasoned order, with the institution deciding

Three shared-intelligence layers add to the right-hand column. RBI in June 2025 advised banks to integrate DoT's Financial Fraud Risk Indicator secondary], which rates mobile numbers Medium, High or Very High risk using NCRP data, DoT's Chakshu platform, data shared by banks and financial institutions, and the Mobile Number Revocation List. I4C's [Suspect Registry, launched on 10 September 2024 "in collaboration with Banks/Financial Institutions" according to a reported Lok Sabha reply secondary], holds cyber-criminal identifiers. The [DPIP Smart Registry went live on 1 September 2026 with eight banks sharing data "in the salted and hashed form" [secondary]. The MediaNama report of the launch does not discuss the DPDP Act or a legal basis for the sharing.

The Act's own definitions put all of this activity inside its scope. "Processing" expressly includes collection, storage, retrieval, use, "alignment or combination", sharing, disclosure by transmission, restriction and erasure. A fraud team that matches an applicant against a registry, stores a red flag, or restricts an account is processing personal data on the Act's terms.

Section 38 governs the overlap in two sentences. The Act applies "in addition to and not in derogation of any other law", and in a conflict it "shall prevail to the extent of such conflict". The carve-outs in s.6(6), s.8(7) and s.12(3), discussed in Section 3, are where the text itself defers to other law. Whether a given RBI rule is accommodated by a carve-out or overridden under s.38(2) is a question the cited sources do not settle, so this paper works through the interaction provision by provision.


04

Six Scenarios

Each scenario follows the same order: the situation, what DPDP pulls toward, what sectoral rules pull toward, what is settled, what is open, a defensible position, and the evidence to keep. DPDP duties referred to below apply from 13 May 2027 (computed) unless stated otherwise. The defensible positions in each scenario and the analysis in Section 4(g) are this paper's reading of the cited provisions, not statements of settled law, and need counsel review before use. The same applies to the executive summary's central reading and to the "Risk to avoid" and "Reading to avoid" passages and column in Section 3.

4(a) Fraud consortium data, negative lists and shared registries

The situation. A lender both draws on and feeds shared fraud intelligence: RBI's Central Fraud Registry and CPFIR, red-flag reporting through CRILC, credit bureaus, and newer layers such as the FRI secondary], the [Suspect Registry secondary] and the [DPIP Smart Registry [secondary].

What DPDP pulls toward. Transparency about recipients and accuracy of what is shared. A consenting customer may ask for the identities of every fiduciary and processor that received her data (s.11(1)(b)). Where data is likely to be "used to make a decision that affects the Data Principal" or disclosed to another fiduciary, the fiduciary must ensure its "completeness, accuracy and consistency" (s.8(3)).

What sectoral rules pull toward. Mandatory sharing and long memory. Under the FRM Master Directions:

FRM MD paragraphRequirement
6.2.1-6.2.2"ensure that the information available in Central Fraud Registry (CFR) is used for credit risk and fraud risk management effectively"; report payment-system frauds to CPFIR
6.3.1Fraud Monitoring Return "not later than 14 days from the date of classification"
3.3.4, 4.1.5Red-flagged accounts meeting the CRILC reporting threshold reported within seven days; classification or removal of the flag "ordinarily" within 180 days
4.4.1Persons classified as fraud debarred for five years from full repayment
2.1.1.1-2.1.1.4Show cause notice, not less than 21 days to respond, and a reasoned order before classification

RBI's July 2024 press release says the Directions incorporate the Supreme Court's judgment of 27 March 2023 in State Bank of India v. Rajesh Agarwal and require compliance with natural justice "in a time-bound manner". The CIC Regulations add permitted purposes and duties: credit information may be used to "deter concurrent borrowers and serial defaulters"; it must be kept "accurate and complete"; and a lender that denies credit on a report must, within thirty days, give the borrower written reasons and a copy of the report. Digital Lending para 16(i) requires every loan made through a digital lending app to be reported to CICs "irrespective of its nature/ tenor".

What is settled. The RBI reporting and CFR-use duties are written into the FRM MD. The CIC permitted purposes and accuracy duties are in regulations 9 and 10. The s.11(2) text lifts the recipient-disclosure right only for sharing with a Data Fiduciary authorised by law, on its written request, for an offence or cyber-incident purpose.

What is open. No public statement was found on the DPDP legal basis for the DPIP, FRI or Suspect Registry flows, and the MediaNama report on the DPIP launch secondary] does not discuss one. This paper does not infer that these flows rely on s.17(1)(c) or s.7. The reach of [s.17(1)(c) over routine screening against a negative list is also open. The FRI integration rests on an RBI advisory of 30 June 2025 whose instrument number is not recorded in the sources cited [secondary].

A defensible position. One position consistent with the cited text is to split shared-intelligence flows into two groups. Flows that an RBI paragraph mandates (CFR use, CPFIR and FMR reporting, CRILC red-flag reporting, CIC reporting) can be recorded against that paragraph as a duty under other law. Flows with no mandating paragraph, such as participation in a registry on commercial terms, can be recorded with their basis marked open until a regulator or the Board speaks. The FRM MD's show-cause, response and reasoned-order steps also appear to serve the s.8(3) accuracy duty for a fraud classification that will be shared, though s.8(3) is among the provisions s.17(1) lists as not applying where that exemption is relied on.

Evidence to keep.

  • The show cause notice, the date the response window opened and closed, and the reasoned order for each fraud classification.
  • FMR submission dates against the 14-day clock and CRILC red-flag reporting dates against the seven-day clock.
  • A recipient log per customer: which registry, bureau or authority received what, and under which paragraph, to answer an s.11(1)(b) request.
  • Written requests received from a Data Fiduciary authorised by law, to evidence the s.11(2) conditions.
  • CIC adverse-action intimations sent within thirty days.

4(b) Device, behavioural and location signals at onboarding

The situation. A lender collects signals at onboarding to check that the applicant is real, present and in India: camera, microphone and location through a digital lending app, and video KYC.

What DPDP pulls toward. Minimum necessary data, itemised in advance. Consent is limited to data "necessary for such specified purpose", and the Rule 3 notice must be understandable independently of other information and give "an itemised description of such personal data".

What sectoral rules pull toward. RBI both restricts and requires signals. Digital Lending para 12(i), verbatim:

"RE shall ensure that any collection of data by their DLA and DLA of their LSP is need-based and with prior and explicit consent of the borrower having audit trail. In any case, RE shall also ensure that DLA of RE/LSP desist from accessing mobile phone resources like file and media, contact list, call logs, telephony functions, etc. A one-time access can be taken for camera, microphone, location or any other facility necessary for the purpose of on-boarding/ KYC requirements only, with the explicit consent of the borrower."

Paras 12(ii)-(iv) give the borrower an option to give or deny consent for specific data, restrict third-party disclosure, revoke consent and have data deleted, and require the purpose to be disclosed "at each stage of interface". Para 13(iii) provides that "No biometric data is stored/ collected by the RE and LSP, unless allowed under extant statutory guidelines". On the requiring side, the KYC Directions 2025, para 27 (Commercial Banks version), require V-CIP recordings to carry "the live GPS co-ordinates (geo-tagging) of the customer", block connections "from IP addresses outside India or from spoofed IP addresses", and use "face liveness / spoof detection as well as face matching technology". Para 24 (Commercial Banks version) requires the digital KYC image to carry a watermark with GPS coordinates, the official's name and code, and a time stamp.

What is settled. The para 12(i) device-resource prohibition and one-time access rule; the V-CIP geo-tagging, IP-origin and liveness requirements; the s.6(1) necessity limit.

What is open. This paper found no RBI provision addressing behavioural biometrics, device fingerprinting or SIM or device binding at onboarding beyond DL para 12 and the V-CIP rules, and does not state that RBI permits or prohibits behavioural analytics generally. Whether signals collected for routine screening fall within s.17(1)(c) is the same open question as in 4(a).

A defensible position. Read together, DL para 12(i) and the KYC Directions paras 24 and 27 (Commercial Banks version) suggest a three-way sort. Signals the KYC Directions require (V-CIP geo-tag, IP origin, liveness) can be recorded as KYC-direction requirements. Resources para 12(i) bars (file and media, contacts, call logs, telephony) stay off, whatever basis is claimed. Everything else, including any behavioural or device signal, needs its own recorded basis, and for a consent basis the Rule 3 itemised notice will have to name it. Keeping the fraud purpose separate in the notice guards against the purpose-drift pattern King Stubb & Kasiva describes [secondary].

Evidence to keep.

4(c) Mule accounts and RBI's proposed 60-day temporary debit hold (DRAFT)

The situation. On 4 August 2026, as reported by Bar & Bench, a Supreme Court bench directed RBI "to prepare a standard operating procedure (SOP) within four weeks for dealing with mule accounts" secondary]. RBI then released the DRAFT Reserve Bank of India (Know Your Customer) Amendment Directions, 2026 ([press release 2026-2027/1109, 12 September 2026, per TaxGuru's reproduction) secondary]. AK & Partners [confirms the draft was issued pursuant to that order [secondary].

The DRAFT, as reproduced by TaxGuru [secondary]:

Element of the DRAFTAs reported by TaxGuru [secondary]
Definition"a temporary restriction placed by a bank on debits on suspected amount(s) or an account, pending verification of suspected money mule activity"
TriggerTransactions of ₹1,000 or more flagged as suspected mule activity or cyber-enabled fraud
Customer stepHold notified to the account holder; 20 days to explain
Bank decisionBy day 30: remove the hold, continue it, or report to the Jurisdictional Police Authority via NCRP-CFCFRMS
Maximum hold60 days, absent contrary instruction from law enforcement
ScopeCommercial banks and UCBs; nodal, pool and escrow accounts excluded
Proposed effective date1 April 2027, or earlier at a bank's option
Comments close2 October 2026

What DPDP pulls toward. Accuracy and transparency for a decision that affects the customer: the s.8(3) duty for data used in such a decision, and the s.11(1)(b) right to learn which fiduciaries received the data, subject to s.11(2) for written requests from a Data Fiduciary authorised by law. Where s.17(1)(c) applies, both are listed as not applying.

What sectoral rules pull toward. Speed and sharing. Beyond the DRAFT, the FRM MD already requires CFR use and CPFIR reporting, and the Suspect Registry secondary] and [FRI secondary] already circulate mule-linked identifiers. According to [Business Today [secondary], institutions can use the FRI to block suspicious transactions, issue customer alerts, or delay transactions pending verification.

What is settled. The Supreme Court's direction (as reported) [secondary]; the FRM MD reporting duties; the existence of the DRAFT and its comment date [secondary].

What is open. The final text of the DRAFT KYC Amendment Directions, 2026. RBI's own text of the press release and the DRAFT was not retrieved; the details above rest on TaxGuru's reproduction and AK & Partners [secondary]. Every element in the table above may change after comments close on 2 October 2026. The DPDP basis for the Suspect Registry and FRI flows is open, as in 4(a).

A defensible position. The DRAFT, as reported, builds a hearing into the hold: notice to the account holder, 20 days to explain, and a decision by day 30. The FRM MD builds a comparable sequence into fraud classification: show cause notice, at least 21 days, reasoned order. This suggests that a bank preparing for the DRAFT can reuse the record-keeping discipline it already runs for fraud classification, and that the same records would also answer an s.8(3) accuracy question where s.17(1)(c) is not relied on. Any design work done before the final text is issued prepares for a DRAFT that is not in force and may change.

Evidence to keep (if the DRAFT is finalised in its reported form).

  • The flag that triggered the hold and the transaction value against the reported ₹1,000 threshold.
  • The date the hold was notified, the customer's explanation, and the day-30 decision.
  • The NCRP-CFCFRMS reference for any report to police.
  • The date any hold ended, against the reported 60-day maximum.

4(d) An erasure or consent-withdrawal request from a customer under a fraud flag

The situation. A customer whose account is red-flagged, or who has been through fraud classification, withdraws consent or asks for erasure.

What DPDP pulls toward. Stopping and deleting. On withdrawal, the fiduciary must cease processing and cause its processors to cease (s.6(6)). The s.8(7) duty is to erase on withdrawal or once the purpose is no longer served, whichever is earlier, and to cause processors to erase. On a request, s.12(3) requires erasure. The fiduciary must publish a grievance response period "not exceeding ninety days" (Rule 14(3)), and the customer must exhaust that grievance route before approaching the Board (s.13(3)). For digital loans, RBI already lets a borrower go to the RB-Integrated Ombudsman if a complaint is rejected or unanswered within 30 days (DL para 11(iv)).

What sectoral rules pull toward. Keeping the record, on several clocks at once:

ObligationClock
PMLA transaction records [secondary]Five years from the date of transaction
PMLA identity records, account files, correspondence [secondary]Five years after the relationship ends or the account closes, whichever is later
KYC Directions 2025 record management [secondary]At least five years after the relationship ends (identity) and from the transaction (transactions)
STR"not later than seven working days" after the Principal Officer is satisfied the transaction is suspicious
FRM red flagClassification or removal "ordinarily" within 180 days of first CRILC reporting
FRM debarmentFive years from full repayment of the defrauded or settlement amount
FRM case closureOnly after law-enforcement disposal and staff accountability; "maintain details of such cases for examination by auditors", with no period stated
CIC RegulationsCredit information and personal data retained for a minimum period of seven years

What is settled. The wording of the three carve-outs: s.8(7) yields to compliance with any law; s.12(3) yields to the specified purpose or compliance with any law; s.6(6) yields where processing is "required or authorised" by other law. Where s.17(1)(a) or (c) applies, Chapter III, including s.12, is listed as not applying. The Rule 8(1) automatic-erasure clock does not reach lenders, because the Third Schedule lists no banking, NBFC or lending class. Rule 8(3) will require personal data, traffic data and processing logs to be retained "for a minimum period of one year from the date of such processing, for the purposes as specified in the Seventh Schedule".

What is open. The FRM text sets no retention period for fraud case files or flags, and this paper found no DPDP provision addressing fraud-flag retention specifically. The reach of s.17(1)(c) is open, as in 4(a). No source was found applying the s.17(1)(a) legal-claims exemption to SARFAESI or DRT proceedings. Whether Rule 8(3)'s one-year floor is a general minimum or limited to the Seventh Schedule purposes (State uses and SDF assessment) is interpretive. How a response to the customer is framed alongside PMLA's requirement that information be "kept confidential" [secondary] is a question for counsel.

A defensible position. One reading consistent with the carve-out texts is to answer the request data category by data category. Records under a named retention duty (PMLA records, credit information under the CIC Regulations, fraud-case details kept for auditors) can be retained with the provision recorded against each category. On this reading, data held on consent alone, with no duty behind it, would fall to be erased or stopped, subject to two qualifications: s.12(3) also permits retention "necessary for the specified purpose", and where s.17(1)(c) applies, s.8(7) is listed as not applying. Under CMS IndusLaw's reading [secondary], retained data is then used only for the legal obligation it is retained for. The practical implication is that each retained record needs a named paragraph behind it, because the FRM text sets no period for the flag itself.

Evidence to keep.

  • The request, the Rule 14(5) identifier used to match it (for example a customer identification file number or application reference number), and the response date against the published period.
  • For each category retained, the provision relied on (from Appendix A).
  • For each category erased, the instruction sent to processors under s.8(7)(b).
  • The FRM classification file, including the date of full repayment where the debarment clock runs from it.

4(e) Collections: third-party contacts, references, guarantors and skip tracing

The situation. A borrower defaults and the lender, or its recovery agent, tries to reach the borrower through references, guarantors, relatives or alternate numbers.

What DPDP pulls toward. A narrow exemption for the defaulter only. Section 17(1)(f) covers processing to ascertain "the financial information and assets and liabilities of any person who has defaulted", subject to the disclosure provisions of other law. Its text does not mention references, relatives or other third parties. On a literal reading, data about those third parties falls back on the ordinary grounds in s.4, including the s.6(1) necessity limit where consent is relied on.

What sectoral rules pull toward. Tight conduct limits. RBI's circular RBI/2022-23/108, DOR.ORG.REC.65/21.04.158/2022-23 of 12 August 2022, para 2, verbatim:

"the REs shall strictly ensure that they or their agents do not resort to intimidation or harassment of any kind, either verbal or physical, against any person in their debt collection efforts, including acts intended to humiliate publicly or intrude upon the privacy of the debtors' family members, referees and friends, sending inappropriate messages either on mobile or through social media, making threatening and/ or anonymous calls, persistently calling the borrower and/ or calling the borrower before 8:00 a.m. and after 7:00 p.m. for recovery of overdue loans, making false and misleading representations, etc."

The same circular places "the ultimate responsibility for their outsourced activities" on the regulated entity. Digital Lending para 8(v) requires the recovery agent's particulars to be sent to the borrower by email or SMS before the agent makes contact, and para 12(i) already bars apps from contact lists and call logs. Under the Managing Risks in Outsourcing Directions, 2025, para 17 [secondary], the bank is responsible for its recovery agents' actions and for "the confidentiality of information pertaining to the customers that is available with the service provider".

From 1 January 2027, the RBI Responsible Business Conduct Fourth Amendment Directions, 2026 secondary], issued as nine circulars dated 6 August 2026 whose reference numbers are not recorded in the sources cited, add the following as [reported by TaxUpdate India and Agrud Partners:

Reported provision [secondary]Detail
Harsh practiceHarassing "the borrower or guarantor, or their relatives, referees, friends or co-workers"
Device data"The lender and its service provider shall not access or use personal data on the borrower's device, including contacts, SMS, call logs, photos and location history, for loan recovery or any other purpose under any circumstances."
Contact hours08:00 to 19:00
Call recordingsRecorded and preserved for six months (TaxUpdate India); "six months, or until the conclusion of any related litigation, whichever is later" (Agrud Partners)

What is settled. The 2022 circular's conduct rules and responsibility allocation; DL paras 8(v) and 12(i); the text of s.17(1)(f).

What is open. The primary text of the Fourth Amendment Directions is not reproduced in the sources cited. The two secondary reports differ on whether call-recording retention runs to the end of litigation, and the final wording on relatives and referees is unconfirmed. This paper found no DPDP or Digital Lending provision setting a retention period for collections call recordings.

A defensible position. Taking s.17(1)(f) at its words, it reaches the defaulter's own financial information, assets and liabilities, and no further. A reading consistent with the text is that each reference, guarantor or alternate contact needs a recorded basis of its own, and that device-sourced contact data is already off-limits for apps under DL para 12(i) and, from 1 January 2027 per the secondary reports, for recovery under the Fourth Amendment Directions. This suggests that skip tracing through data on a borrower's device finds no support in the RBI texts cited.

Evidence to keep.

  • The email or SMS sending the agent's particulars before first contact.
  • Call logs showing contact times within the 8:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. window.
  • Call recordings, kept for at least six months from 1 January 2027 on the secondary reports [secondary].
  • For each third-party number held, where it came from and the basis recorded for it.

4(f) Fraud and KYC vendors as data processors

The situation. A lender uses vendors for KYC checks, fraud scoring, video KYC and collections technology. Under the Act a Data Processor processes "on behalf of a Data Fiduciary", and the lender remains the fiduciary.

What DPDP pulls toward. Fiduciary liability that no contract can shift. Section 8(1) makes the fiduciary responsible "irrespective of any agreement to the contrary" for processing by its processors. Section 8(2) permits engaging a processor "only under a valid contract". Section 8(5) extends security safeguards to processor processing. Rule 6(1)(f) will require "appropriate provision in the contract" for reasonable security safeguards, and the Rule 8(3) illustration says a fiduciary using a cloud processor must ensure the processor "also retains the data and associated logs for at least one year before erasure". A customer can learn the identity of every processor her data went to (s.11(1)(b)).

What sectoral rules pull toward. Detailed contracts, audit and inspection rights, and fast incident reporting:

RequirementSource
Contract defining roles, rights and obligations; enhanced due diligence on the LSP's data privacy policies and storage; RE "fully responsible and liable" for LSP actsDigital Lending paras 5(i), (ii), (vii)
LSPs store only "basic minimal data"; data privacy responsibility stays with the REDigital Lending para 13(i)
Servers in India; data processed abroad deleted there and brought back within 24 hoursDigital Lending para 13(iv)
Need-to-know access; no commingling where a provider serves several entitiesOutsourcing Directions 2025 (Commercial Banks version), paras 24, 26 [secondary]
Contract clauses: prior approval of subcontractors, bank audit rights, RBI access and inspection, terminationOutsourcing Directions 2025 (Commercial Banks version), para 34 [secondary]
Storage of data only in India "as per extant regulatory requirements"Outsourcing Directions 2025 (Commercial Banks version), para 69(vi) [secondary]
Security safeguard clause in the processor contractDPDP Rule 6(1)(f) (from 13 May 2027, computed)

The Outsourcing Directions (RBI/DOR/2025-26/171, DOR.ORG.REC.No.90/21-04-158/2025-26, 28 November 2025) [secondary] state that outsourcing "does not diminish" the bank's obligations. Their Chapter IV covers IT outsourcing and para 95 repeals the earlier guidelines.

Incident clocks run in parallel:

RouteClock
RBI, breach or leakage of confidential customer information"immediately notify RBI" (Outsourcing para 28, Commercial Banks version) [secondary]
RBI, cyber incident at a service providerReported by the bank within six hours of detection by the service provider (Outsourcing para 56, Commercial Banks version) [secondary]
CERT-In (Directions No. 20(3)/2022-CERT-In, 28 April 2022)Within 6 hours of noticing
Data Protection Board"without delay", then within seventy-two hours with details including "any findings regarding the person who caused the breach" (Rule 7(2), from 13 May 2027, computed)
Affected Data Principals"without delay" (Rule 7(1), from 13 May 2027, computed)

What is settled. The DPDP processor provisions and the RBI and CERT-In texts above. Fiduciary liability for processors and the security duty are the two duties s.17(1) keeps even when an exemption applies.

What is open. Only the Commercial Banks version of the Outsourcing Directions is cited here; NBFC and other versions are not compared. Whether the Digital Lending Directions have been folded into entity-wise directions after 28 November 2025 is unconfirmed. Whether s.8(6) breach intimation applies to processing done under s.17(1) is open, as noted in Section 3.3. RBI's Advisory No. 3/2026 of 25 March 2026 is reported to cover third-party risk management and data retention and destruction, but it is described as non-binding and its primary text is not reproduced in the source cited [secondary].

A defensible position. Read together, the DPDP and RBI texts point to one contract per vendor carrying both sets of clauses: the s.8(2) valid contract and Rule 6(1)(f) security clause; the para 34 audit, inspection and subcontracting clauses; an erasure and cease-processing instruction path for s.8(7)(b) and s.6(6); the Rule 8(3) one-year log retention; and incident notice fast enough for the six-hour RBI and CERT-In routes. Because s.8(1) survives every s.17(1) exemption, the vendor contract carries weight whichever legal basis the underlying fraud processing rests on.

Evidence to keep.

4(g) Reading the six scenarios together

This subsection is analysis. Each point rearranges provisions cited in scenarios (a) to (f); none adds a new fact.

The collision is uneven, and it follows the source of the duty. In scenarios (a), (d) and (f), the cited texts name a duty behind the core data flows: RBI paragraphs mandate CFR use, CPFIR and FMR reporting, PMLA and the CIC Regulations set retention floors, and s.6(6), s.8(7) and s.12(3) defer to other law on consent withdrawal and erasure. Those carve-outs reach only withdrawal and erasure. Beyond them, whether a given RBI rule is accommodated or overridden under s.38(2) is the open question noted in Section 2. In scenarios (b) and (e), and in the registry flows of (a) that no RBI paragraph mandates, the control rests on the lender's own choice. There the DPDP routes are consent, which the customer can withdraw, or s.17(1)(c), whose reach over routine screening is unresolved. Read together, these suggest that a lender's DPDP questions in fraud work are most open in the discretionary layer. In the mandated layer the other-law duty is written down, but its interaction with the DPDP Act outside the carve-outs is not settled in the sources cited, so each flow needs the paragraph relied on recorded and the s.38(2) question put to counsel.

Two duties survive every route. Whatever basis a lender records, s.8(1) responsibility for processors and s.8(5) security safeguards remain in place under s.17(1), and the Schedule attaches the largest penalty, up to ₹250 crore, to the security safeguard. The practical implication is that the vendor contract and security work in scenario (f) is the one workstream whose value does not depend on how the open legal-basis questions are eventually answered.

RBI's process records already do part of the DPDP evidence job. The FRM MD's show cause notice, 21-day window and reasoned order, and the DRAFT debit hold's notice, 20-day explanation and day-30 decision secondary], both produce a record of what the institution knew and when it decided. Section 8(3) asks for completeness and accuracy where data drives a decision affecting the customer, and s.33(2) lists [mitigation and its timeliness among the factors the Board will weigh. This suggests the same files can serve both regimes if they are kept with that dual use in mind.

Three changes share the runway. The RBI Responsible Business Conduct Fourth Amendment Directions take effect on 1 January 2027 secondary]; the DRAFT debit hold is proposed for 1 April 2027 [secondary]; the eighteen-month DPDP tranche commences on 13 May 2027 (computed). As this paper's forecast, and only if the DRAFT is finalised on its proposed date, an institution that sequences the three together could work through overlapping files once rather than separately: customer notices, which both the [DRAFT debit hold secondary] and the DPDP [Rule 3 notice touch; call recordings and borrower device data, which the Fourth Amendment reportedly covers secondary], and for which Appendix A maps [Rule 8(3) in its own words, retention "for a minimum period of one year from the date of such processing, for the purposes as specified in the Seventh Schedule", although whether that floor reaches beyond the Seventh Schedule purposes is still unsettled (see 4(d)); and processor contracts, which DPDP s.8(2) requires to be a valid contract and for which the Outsourcing Directions, para 17 (Commercial Banks version) [secondary] make the bank responsible for its recovery agents and for "the confidentiality of information pertaining to the customers that is available with the service provider".

Where the open questions may close. Section 17(5) lets the Government exempt specified fiduciaries by notification for a specified period within five years of commencement, and the Board will decide inquiries once it is staffed and its inquiry powers commence on 13 May 2027 (computed). As a hypothesis only: the s.7 and s.17(1)(c) questions are the kind a notification or an early Board decision could settle.


05

Governance

5.1 The legal-basis register

A register records, for each fraud-related data use, the basis relied on and the text behind it. The rows below are illustrative, built only from the provisions cited in this paper; the "status" column is this paper's reading. The DPDP provisions in the register commence on 13 May 2027 (computed); the RBI, PMLA and CIC texts are cited as they stand. "Duty under other law" is not one of the two s.4(1) grounds (consent and legitimate uses). Rows using it record the other-law mandate, and their status separates that mandate from how the DPDP Act characterises the processing, on which no regulator statement was found as at September 2026.

Fraud-related data useBasis to recordText it rests on (DPDP provisions from 13 May 2027, computed)Status in this paper's readingEvidence
Using CFR data in credit and fraud risk decisionsDuty under other lawFRM MD para 6.2.1Mandate settled; DPDP characterisation: no regulator statement found as at September 2026Decision records citing CFR checks
Reporting payment frauds to CPFIR; FMR within 14 daysDuty under other lawFRM MD paras 6.2.2, 6.3.1Mandate settled; DPDP characterisation: no regulator statement found as at September 2026Submission dates
Reporting digital loans to CICs; retaining credit informationDuty under other lawDL para 16(i); CIC Regs 10(d), 11(4)Mandate settled (clock start of the seven years not stated in the text); DPDP characterisation: no regulator statement found as at September 2026Reporting logs; retention schedule
Keeping KYC and transaction records after account closureDuty under other law; s.8(7) and s.12(3) carve-outsPMLA s.12(3)-(4) secondary]; [s.8(7); s.12(3)Mandate and carve-out wording settled; DPDP characterisation: no regulator statement found as at September 2026Retention schedule by category
Filing STRsDuty under other lawFIU-IND FAQ; PMLA s.12(1)(b) [secondary]Mandate settled; DPDP characterisation: no regulator statement found as at September 2026Filing dates against seven working days
V-CIP geo-tag, IP check and livenessDuty under other lawKYC Directions 2025, para 27 (Commercial Banks version)Mandate settled; DPDP characterisation: no regulator statement found as at September 2026V-CIP recordings and activity logs
One-time camera, microphone and location access via appConsentDL para 12(i); s.6(1)SettledConsent audit trail
Behavioural or device signals beyond RBI's listConsent, s.17(1)(c) or opens.6(1); s.17(1)(c)OpenNotice text; basis memo
Sharing through DPIP Smart Registry or using FRI and Suspect Registry dataTo be determinedMediaNama report [secondary] silent on basisOpenParticipation terms; basis memo
Sharing with a Data Fiduciary authorised by law, on its written request, for an offence or cyber-incident purposeThe sharing's own basis, recorded separately; s.11(2) only switches off the s.11(1)(b)-(c) disclosure to the customer for that sharings.11(2)Settled text; interaction with s.17(1)(c) openThe written request
Tracing a defaulter's assets and liabilitiess.17(1)(f)s.17(1)(f)Settled text; limited to the defaulterDefault record; searches made
Contacting references and guarantorsConsent or other basis, recorded per contact2022 recovery circular; s.17(1)(f) text silent on third partiesOpenSource of each number; call logs

5.2 Questions for the DPO or the board

A DPO is a statutory appointment for a Significant Data Fiduciary. Under s.10(2), from 13 May 2027 (computed), an SDF will appoint a DPO based in India who is "responsible to the Board of Directors or similar governing body", appoint an independent data auditor, and carry out periodic DPIAs; Rule 13 requires a DPIA and audit once in every twelve months and adds a due-diligence duty on "algorithmic software". No official list of designated SDFs was found in the sources reviewed as at September 2026. Every fiduciary will need to publish the contact details of a DPO or of a person able to answer processing questions (s.8(9), Rule 9).

Questions that trace to the provisions above:

  1. For each row of the legal-basis register, which paragraph or section is recorded, and which rows are marked open?
  2. Where the institution relies on s.17(1)(c), is the processing tied to a specific suspected offence or to routine screening, and has counsel given a view on that distinction?
  3. Does every fraud and KYC vendor contract carry the s.8(2) and Rule 6(1)(f) clauses alongside the para 34 [secondary] clauses of the Outsourcing Directions (Commercial Banks version), or the equivalent clauses in the version that applies to the institution?
  4. Can the institution answer an s.11(1)(b) request naming every fiduciary and processor that received a customer's data?
  5. For an erasure request from a red-flagged customer, is there a written route that decides category by category which data is retained and under which provision?
  6. Is the published grievance period within the ninety-day ceiling, and how does it sit next to RBI's 30-day ombudsman trigger for digital loans?
  7. Can incident response meet the six-hour RBI secondary] (Outsourcing Directions, Commercial Banks version) and [CERT-In routes and the Rule 7 Board and customer intimations from one incident record?
  8. Who tracks the DRAFT KYC Amendment Directions, 2026 [secondary] after comments close on 2 October 2026, and the Fourth Amendment Directions [secondary] before 1 January 2027?

5.3 What to keep for a Data Protection Board inquiry

The Board is established in law and, as at LiveLaw's report of 1 August 2026 [secondary], not yet staffed with a Chairperson or Members. Its inquiry powers commence at eighteen months, 13 May 2027 (computed).

Once in force, an inquiry can start from a breach intimation under s.8(6), a Data Principal's complaint, or a Government or court reference (s.27(1)). The Board will have civil-court powers including summoning, discovery, and "inspecting any data, book, document, register, books of account or any other document" (s.28(7)), and may issue interim orders. Rule 19(9), in force since publication, sets six months to complete an inquiry, extendable by up to three months at a time for recorded reasons.

From 13 May 2027 (computed), the Act and Rules will place specific evidence on the fiduciary:

EvidenceProvision (from 13 May 2027, computed)
Proof that notice was given and consent obtained, where consent is the basiss.6(10)
Access logs, with logs and personal data kept one year for breach detectionRule 6(1)(c), (e)
The 72-hour report, including findings on the person who caused the breachRule 7(2)(b)
Processing logs kept at least one year from processingRule 8(3)
Mitigation action and its timeliness, which the Board weighs in penaltys.33(2)(e)

To these, the scenario evidence lists above add the legal-basis register, the FRM classification files, the vendor contracts and the retention schedule mapped in Appendix A.


06

Readiness Checklist for 13 May 2027

Every item below traces to a cited provision. The DPDP items are what the text will require when the eighteen-month tranche and Rules 3, 5 to 16, 22 and 23 commence on 13 May 2027 (computed). The RBI and CERT-In items are already in force for the entities they cover unless marked DRAFT or dated. The Outsourcing Directions items are cited in their Commercial Banks version only; the NBFC and other versions are not compared in this paper.

DPDP Act and Rules (from 13 May 2027, computed)

  • check_box_outline_blankNotices meeting Rule 3: itemised data, specified purpose, and the means to withdraw consent, exercise rights and complain to the Board.
  • check_box_outline_blankReasonable security safeguards under Rule 6(1), including access logs and one-year retention of logs and personal data for breach detection.
  • check_box_outline_blankBreach intimation routes to affected Data Principals and to the Board, "without delay" and within seventy-two hours, under Rule 7.
  • check_box_outline_blankProcessing logs kept at least one year from processing under Rule 8(3), including for processor processing.
  • check_box_outline_blankPublished contact details of a DPO or responsible person under Rule 9 and s.8(9).
  • check_box_outline_blankA published grievance response period not exceeding ninety days under Rule 14(3), and a redress mechanism under s.8(10).
  • check_box_outline_blankProcessor contracts that are a "valid contract" under s.8(2) with a security clause under Rule 6(1)(f).
  • check_box_outline_blankIf notified as an SDF: DPO, independent data auditor and annual DPIA and audit under s.10(2) and Rule 13.
  • check_box_outline_blankA recorded basis for each fraud-related data use, including any reliance on s.17(1) exemptions, which commence on the same date.

RBI and CERT-In (in force unless marked)

Earlier date

  • check_box_outline_blank13 November 2026 (computed): Rule 4 Consent Manager registration and s.6(9) commence. A Consent Manager must keep consent records for at least seven years; that period applies to Consent Managers, and the Act and Rules text reviewed prescribes no consent-record period for Data Fiduciaries generally.

07

Appendix A: The BFSI Retention Map

How to read this map. Each filled cell is hyperlinked to its source. "No provision found" means this paper found no provision in that regime setting a period for that category; no period is inferred. "Not mapped" means the regime was not mapped against that category in this appendix. [secondary] marks a cell resting on a secondary source. DPDP entries apply from 13 May 2027 (computed). The Rule 8(3) cells state the rule's text, a one-year minimum "for the purposes as specified in the Seventh Schedule"; whether it reaches beyond those purposes is unsettled (see 4(d)). Insurer entries are included for reference; the paper's audience is lenders, and RBI rules are not assumed to apply to insurers.

Data categoryDPDP Act and Rules 2025 (from 13 May 2027, computed)PMLA s.12 [secondary]RBI KYC Directions 2025RBI Digital Lending Directions 2025RBI FRM MD 2024 (primary) / RBC Fourth Amendment 2026 [secondary]CIC Regulations 2006IRDAI 2025 Regulations [secondary]SEBI AML Master Circular 2024 [secondary]Companies Act 2013 / Income-tax Rules 2026 [secondary] / CERT-In
KYC documents and identity recordsErase unless retention is necessary for compliance with any law (s.8(7)); at least one year from processing (Rule 8(3))5 years after the relationship ends or account closes, whichever is laterAt least 5 years after the relationship ends [secondary]No provision found. Para 13(ii) requires a published retention policyNot mappedNot mappedMinimum 10 years or as per extant legal requirements, whichever is later, counted from the last transaction on the records or from expiry of the policy [secondary]Not mapped (the source cited covers transaction records only)No provision found
V-CIP recordingsAs for KYC documents: s.8(7); Rule 8(3)Whether a recording is an identity record under s.12(1)(e) is openStored in India; activity log preserved (para 27, Commercial Banks version); no period found in the textNo provision foundNot mappedNot mappedNot mappedNot mappedNot mapped
Transaction recordss.8(7) law carve-out; Rule 8(3)5 years from the date of transactionAt least 5 years from the transaction [secondary]No provision foundNot mappedNot mappedMinimum 10 years or as per extant legal requirements, whichever is later, counted from the last transaction on the records or from expiry of the policy [secondary]At least 5 years from the transaction date or until related investigations conclude [secondary]Books of account: not less than eight financial years (Companies Act s.128(5)); seven tax years under Rule 46(9) [secondary]
Credit bureau datas.8(7) law carve-out; Rule 8(3)Not mappedNot mappedReport all DLA loans to CICs irrespective of nature or tenor (para 16(i)); no period foundNot mappedCredit information and personal data: minimum 7 years (regs 10(d), 11(4)); clock start not statedNot mappedNot mappedNot mapped
Fraud case files and fraud flagsWhere s.17(1)(c) applies, s.8(7) is listed as not applying; no fraud-flag period foundSTR within seven working days; records per s.12Not mappedNo provision foundFRM MD: on closure, maintain details for examination by auditors, no period stated; debarment 5 years from full repaymentMinimum 7 years where the data is credit informationNo provision foundNo provision foundNot mapped
Collections call recordingsRule 8(3) minimum one year from processingNot mappedNot mappedNo provision foundRBC Fourth Amendment: six months, or per Agrud Partners until related litigation concludes, whichever is later, from 1 January 2027 [secondary]Not mappedNot mappedNot mappedNot mapped
Consent records and logsBurden to prove notice and consent (s.6(10)); logs one year (Rule 6(1)(e)) and at least one year (Rule 8(3)); no period is prescribed for fiduciaries in the Act or Rules text reviewed; Consent Managers at least 7 yearsNot mappedNot mappedConsent with audit trail (para 12(i)); no period foundNot mappedNot mappedNot mappedNot mappedNot mapped
ICT and security logsOne year unless other law requires otherwise (Rule 6(1)(e))Not mappedNot mappedNot mappedNot mappedNot mappedNot mappedNot mappedCERT-In: rolling 180 days within India

Notes to the map.


Bhanujeet Choudhary is Head of Compliance at KYCKART. This paper is analysis for information only and is not legal, regulatory, tax or compliance advice. It is current as at September 2026, and any position in it needs review by the institution's own counsel before it is relied on.


BC
Bhanujeet Choudhary
Head of Compliance, KYCKART • Current as at September 2026

Bhanujeet Choudhary is Head of Compliance at KYCKART. This paper is analysis for information only and is not legal, regulatory, tax or compliance advice. It is current as at September 2026, and any position in it needs review by the institution's own counsel before it is relied on.

Fraud Intelligence & Compliance

Unify Fraud Prevention with DPDP Regulatory Defense

Protect your lending institution against cyber fraud, mule accounts, and regulatory non-compliance with KYCKART's purpose-built intelligence platform.